National Community Radio Forum

Building an enabling environment and a coherent sector identity.
Ensuring continued healthy growth of community radio in South Africa.

NCRF congratulates it members who participated in the MTN radio awards

The stars of SA radio were heralded at a sparkling banquet at the Sandton Convention Centre on the 18th April 2015 when the winners of the 2015 MTN Radio Awards were announced. Guest of honour at the banquet was the Honourable Minister of Communications, Faith Muthambi. This was the sixth annual MTN Radio Awards event, celebrating and acknowledging excellent work in radio and the industry was out to celebrate radio in style.

“We are delighted with the way the industry has adopted these awards, with a new record in entries from a record number of stations and organizations once again this year,” says Lance Rothschild, CEO of the MTN Radio Awards. “The increased supports these awards enjoy mean that more stations are striving to make compelling and memorable content for their listeners. This augurs well for the radio industry and ensures that radio has a bright and sustainable future.”

“The excitement and anticipation leading up to the awards presentation is indeed a vindication of the value that these awards bring to the radio industry,” says Larry Annetts, Chief Marketing Officer of MTN South Africa. “Through the MTN Radio Awards we have been able to build and strengthen ties with organisations and individuals across an industry which has served the MTN brand so well since our launch 21 years ago. I am delighted to see the innovation and the diversity of content, individuals, and stations who have taken top honours tonight and I firmly believe that the South African radio industry is in excellent health.”

Therefore the NCRF would like to take this opportunity to express its heart felt appreciation to all NCRF members who participated in the MTN Radio awards.

  • Community project
    Winner: RADIO PULPIT - Leave Your Mark - Marikana
  • Daytime show
    Winner: RADIO PULPIT - Masithethe
  • Drama Programme
    Winner: RADIO KHWEZI - Ibhunguka
  • Multi-channel promotion
    Winner: RADIO PULPIT - Marikana
  • Music show
    Winner: VOW FM - KPop Fridays on Mugging Beats
  • News and actuality presenter
    Winner: VOW FM - Paul McNally
  • News and actuality producer
    Winner: RADIO KHWEZI - Nothile Zwane
  • News and actuality show
    Winner: VOW FM - The Science Inside
  • Night-time show
    Winner: RADIO PULPIT - Intimate Moments with Sipho Kaleni
  • Promotions stunt/event
    Winner: RADIO PULPIT - Leave Your Mark - Marikana
  • Radio documentary
    Winner: THETHA FM 100.6 - The Story of Farouk Meyer and Oscar Pistorius
  • Sports show
    Winner: SOSHANGUVE COMMUNITY RADIO - Sports Button
  • Station of the year
    Winner: RADIO PULPIT

Finally we would also like to encourage the following stations that participate but not won the awards

  • Vukani Community Radio
  • Voice of Thembisa

Latest News

Latest News
NCRF National Conference: 27 - 30 May 2017
The National Executive Committee invites all NCRF members, stakeholders and community media activist...
Apr 19, 2017
Press Statement on the passing of Mr George Christensen
The NCRF Leadership would like to convey its heartfelt condolences to the colleagues, friends and fa...
Jun 13, 2016
Gallery Page National Policy Conference, 13-15 November 2015
Dec 01, 2015
AMARC 11th General Assembly
The National Secretary of the NCRF South African Community Radio Association will be leading the del...
Aug 07, 2015
NCRF on incorrect reporting by South African media
The NCRF has noted with concern the current spread of information that South African media is wrongl...
Apr 22, 2015
NCRF congratulates it members who participated in the MTN radio awards
The stars of SA radio were heralded at a sparkling banquet at the Sandton Convention Centre on the 1...
Apr 22, 2015
NCRF National Policy Conference postponed
Please be informed that due to circumstances beyond our control we were forced to postpone our Natio...
Jul 20, 2014
Volunteers: Brand Communications and Marketing
The NCRF is looking for a volunteer to assist in the Brand Communications and Marketing Unit for 2 m...
Jun 02, 2014
MDDA/Sanlam Local Media Awards 2013
Entries for the MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards for the year 2013 open today, 2 December 2013....
Dec 13, 2013
Newly Elected Board of Directors
The National Conference among other things elected the National Leadership who will take stock of th...
Dec 09, 2013
Tribute to Dr Nelson Mandela
A man who dedicated his own life to the South Africans and ensured that democracy is not only said b...
Dec 09, 2013
UNESCO-NCRF Press Release
Two South African community radio stations, Thetha FM in the Orange Farm and Alex FM in northern Joh...
Oct 04, 2013

Partners and Associates